Adapting to Change

Bridges

I’ve always thought I was quite adaptable to change. Upped sticks when children were young, changed houses many times, lost and obtained new work and friendships over the years, went around the mountain when I couldn’t go over it, among other formidable life happenings.

Now my favourite hiking place has put in a bridge.

A forest with a bridge, over a creek, not near a parking area, deep in the woods. There are, of course, many reasons for doing so, especially with the increased use over the past year–protect flora and fauna from being trampled, protect the creek, accessibility. I’m not for it, to say the least, despite all of the sensible reasons.

There is something inherently just wrong with a cement path choking out the undergrowth and landscaping a wild area.

I used to think I was one of the few who took a deer trail through the woods, was careful where I stepped, and protected the spaces where I walked. There is no way to analyze the quantifiable data on how much destruction has taken place in this particular area. I don’t know what was discussed within municipal and local interested groups. We are trusting they weighed the pros and cons.

I’m one of those who do believe in the sensibility of nature. That trees have feelings, that they communicate with one another, that they have the ability to take care of each other. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRRLQBzc7og

I still wish there wasn’t a bridge where I hike, but I suppose I will have to get used to it. These days, I’m repeating the saying, ‘Accept the things I cannot change, change the things I can, and grant me the wisdom to know the difference.’

The forest will work around engineered ideas. It has for thousands of years.

lichen ladies
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment