Mt. Doug Hiking

The forest changes with the seasons, according to its own needs. Taking a walk on the winter solstice, trying to catch the last of the light, I was thinking of the Christmas to come, grown children to hearth and home. My heart barely able to contain the fullness. I did not try to dress the mountain with my emotions; the mountain determines its own colours. Climbing high to overlook the Blenkinsop Valley, I walked parallel to the setting sun, and when I changed direction, this brightest star followed me, painting everything in gold.

Coming down in the twilight, I gave thanks for family, health, and this place. All of them changing me.

Mt. Doug, Christmas Eve 2009

Leave a Reply

